Link, Some Questions.

Marcus Bertilsson

Hi,

Yes, I really hope for some modifications in the future concerning the linking problem!

I've been working with SolidEdge for 5 years or so... and SE contains the tool IC has been looking for!! The RevisionManager / Insight Connect!!

Besides controlling revisions you are also able to "repair" broken links (to external parts/assemblies), if you moved the external saved part/assembly to another server location or just want to replace it!

If your server have Sharepoint installed the RevisionManager is able to find the new location for the moved part/assy itself!

... a PRETTY nice tool!

In this example one file has not been found by opening the assembly through RevisionManager and a new file (selected by the user) is going to replace it (see Action-column):

post-22588-1164773841_thumb.jpg

Read about Insight Connect here:

Insight Connect

c_skytte

Edited by Christian Skytte

Yes I agree with Christian, this would be a very helpful tool. IronPRO has started on this path I believe and maybe will continue on it.

Its been awhile since I have used SE about version 14 I guess but it did have very strong revision control and management outside of insight that maybe IC can adopt.

While on the subject, consider this an ER I just recieved a huge assembly file from a client that contains about 100 external links. It would be GREAT if IC could tell me all the external links so I could find them in a txt file or similar. Right now I have to cancel every one independently to open this assy and write down as they pop up the missing links. Unless I am not aware of something that will help this process.

Thanks

Tom

It would be GREAT if IC could tell me all the external links so I could find them in a txt file or similar.

16400[/snapback]

Tom-

Here is a little VBA that will show you a list of linked file names. You can modify this as required to make it print you out a text file if you would like:

Sub showTheLinks()