Morphing in INOVATE?

I am new to INOVATE and have learnt how to draw a 2D profile and "spin" it to form a solid cylindrical object. I noticed the drop and drag animations in the Catalogue browser are really simplistic -- i.e. translate in x or y for example or hop or fly in or fly out. What I would like to do for my solid spun cylindrical object is to have it animate being "squashed" between two dies -- so the spun object reduces in height and expands sideways simultaneously maintaining the volume. I noticed handles are available to yank the 2D profile which updates the spun object. Is it possible to attach an animation effect to the yanking of the 2D handle? This should make the squashing between two dies possible and look realistic.

Thanks for your help,

Urban De Souza

Sr. Project Engineer

ATI Allvac R&D

Tom-

I'm impressed!  As I understood the problem he wants to change a cross section with time.  I didn't think that was possible.  How do you do that (or, how do you plan on making it look like that is happening)?

23397[/snapback]

Hi Mike,

well for arguments sake lets take a spring, if you creat it the spring with start and end intellishapes and the middle helix as third intellishape which is associated faces on, you could animate an end intellishape and when you generate the animation it would look like the spring compresses.

I'm assume Urbans may bit a bit easier than a spring, but I learned long ago to never assume. biggrin.gif

I know Cary created such an animation, I will see if I can find it unless Cary beats me to the punch.

cheers

tom

Edited by tlehnhaeuser

Tom-