Welcome Guest ( Log In)

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Setting 3GB Switch on Vista 32-bit OS

Cary OConnor
post Feb 10 2009, 01:28 PM
Post #1


TriBall
********

Group: IronCAD Employees
Posts: 6,530
Joined: 23-August 04
Member No.: 17



Instructions for Vista 32-bit OS for setting the 3GB memory setting.

To SET the 3GB switch in 32-bit VISTA, do the following:

1) Right-click 'Command Prompt" under -- Start > Accessories > Command Prompt
2) Choose 'Run as Administrator'
3) Type "bcdedit /set IncreaseUserVa 3072" and press [Enter]
4) Restart the computer



To REMOVE the 3GB switch in 32-bit VISTA, do the following:

1) Right-click 'Command Prompt" under -- Start > Accessories > Command Prompt
2) Choose 'Run as Administrator'
3) Type "bcdedit /deletevalue IncreaseUserVa" and press [Enter]
4) Restart the computer
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EricFoy
post Feb 13 2009, 11:33 AM
Post #2


Unregistered









Just offhand... Do you know a quick way of checking what the current setting is?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IronKevin
post Feb 13 2009, 11:50 AM
Post #3


TriBall
********

Group: IronCAD Employees
Posts: 19,638
Joined: 21-November 06
Member No.: 27,213



Use the bootcfg command
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mike Twining
post Feb 13 2009, 12:10 PM
Post #4


TriBall
********

Group: Expired
Posts: 15,112
Joined: 5-September 02
From: San Diego, CA.
Member No.: 1,137



I believe if you just type "bcdedit" into the command prompt you will get a list of all your bootable entries (probably only one unless you have been messing with it). If you see a line for "increaseUserVA" then you have the switch set. No line, no switch.

Trolling the net I found this:
[IMG]http://scorpio.guildcom.us/images/BCDEdit.jpg[/IMG]
Notice the bottom entry...or don't because the image tags aparently don't work on this forum...

Linky to Photo



And just to clarify, the "/3GB" switch does not exist in the same way for Vista that it did with XP. With XP, there was an additional /USERVA=XXXX switch that went along with the /3GB to "fine-tune" the /3GB switch. Now, with vista, the only thing that exists is the "UserVA" portion (or "increaseuserva" as it is implemented). It does the same thing, but there is no shortcut to implement it...

Edit...
Kev beat me (to it), although I was under the impression that the bootcfg was the old XP command and was replaced by bcdedit.exe...

Also, I recommend EasyBCD as a nice GUI for modifying your boot options in Vista. You still need to do the command prompt entries to enable the userva adjustments, but EacyBCD makes it easier to adjust and tweak the boot devices or OSs that you may want (i.e. I would use this to make a 2nd bootable Vista entry for the increaseUserVA setting, just in case you can render the OS unbootable by tweaking the setting).

This post has been edited by Mike Twining: Feb 13 2009, 12:22 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
 

All content copyright IronCAD 2000-2008 Low-Bandwidth View Time is now: 20th November 2017 - 02:45 AM