Welcome Guest ( Log In)

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> .ics Extension, Fix the .ics extension if Outlook steals

janttila
post Apr 22 2008, 03:25 AM
Post #1


Polygon
***

Group: Expired
Posts: 141
Joined: 26-October 06
Member No.: 26,951



Fix the .ics extension if Outlook steals it

Download IcsReclaim

(Ironcad/IcsReclaim-Setup.exe)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dberge
post Apr 24 2008, 08:09 AM
Post #2


Cylinder
**

Group: Community Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 3-March 08
Member No.: 37,083



only works for 10 unfortunatly
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mike Twining
post Apr 24 2008, 10:03 AM
Post #3


TriBall
********

Group: Expired
Posts: 15,112
Joined: 5-September 02
From: San Diego, CA.
Member No.: 1,137



So... what exactly is it doing? Registry change?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
janttila
post Apr 25 2008, 02:46 AM
Post #4


Polygon
***

Group: Expired
Posts: 141
Joined: 26-October 06
Member No.: 26,951



It deletes assosiation to outlook and creates a new one
to the IronCAD.Scene class and sets the shell/open to Ic

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.ics\ironCAD.Scene
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\IronCAD.Scene\shell\open\command\C:\Program\IronCAD\10.0\bin\ironcad.exe "%1"

I will fix support for v9 next week.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
janttila
post Apr 25 2008, 04:23 AM
Post #5


Polygon
***

Group: Expired
Posts: 141
Joined: 26-October 06
Member No.: 26,951



v9 should work now!, just download again.

This post has been edited by janttila: Apr 25 2008, 04:23 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mike Allen
post Apr 25 2008, 12:53 PM
Post #6


I-Beam
*******

Group: Community Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 15-October 02
From: Eagan, MN
Member No.: 1,181



I've installed it & it works pretty well. All .ics files now open with IronCAD if I double-click them in Windows Explorer.

Nevertheless, you can't keep Microsoft down. Outlook comes up at the top of the "Open With..." menu and the next time I rebooted & started Outlook, all the .ics files switched back to calendar icons (but they still open in IronCAD when I double-click them.)

I guess Microsoft just knows better than we do - .ics just has to be a calendar file. rolleyes.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
janttila
post Apr 25 2008, 12:57 PM
Post #7


Polygon
***

Group: Expired
Posts: 141
Joined: 26-October 06
Member No.: 26,951



QUOTE(Mike Allen @ Apr 25 2008, 05:53 PM)
I've installed it & it works pretty well. All .ics files now open with IronCAD if I double-click them in Windows Explorer.

Nevertheless, you can't keep Microsoft down. Outlook comes up at the top of the "Open With..." menu and the next time I rebooted & started Outlook, all the .ics files switched back to calendar icons (but they still open in IronCAD when I double-click them.)

I guess Microsoft just knows better than we do - .ics just has to be a calendar file.  rolleyes.gif
*



Yes i know, thats why i made it as an install application and not a reg file, sometimes you need to run it every time you start windows.

sometimes its enough to rightclick on the .ics file and choose open with ironcad after you run icsReclaim, that helps sometimes.

Or try to set outlook to not check if it is the default app for email and calender files, works fore some versions of office.


This post has been edited by janttila: Apr 25 2008, 01:01 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dberge
post May 6 2008, 09:26 AM
Post #8


Cylinder
**

Group: Community Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 3-March 08
Member No.: 37,083



Hi,

i tried the ic9-version.
The path for ironcad after the install is now: bin\ironcad.exe "%1"
and it should be: "C:\Program Files\IronCAD\9.0\bin\ironcad.exe"
Do you know how that can be?
I can change it but it won`t stay there after a restart of the computer
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mike Twining
post May 6 2008, 10:14 AM
Post #9


TriBall
********

Group: Expired
Posts: 15,112
Joined: 5-September 02
From: San Diego, CA.
Member No.: 1,137



QUOTE(Mike Allen @ Apr 25 2008, 08:53 AM)
Nevertheless, you can't keep Microsoft down...

I guess Microsoft just knows better than we do - .ics just has to be a calendar file.  rolleyes.gif
*



Hey... their OS, their rules. Who's bright idea was it to pick a microsoft extension for IronCAD files to begin with? I think it is long past time for a new IronCAD Scene file extension...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EricFoy
post May 6 2008, 10:31 PM
Post #10


Unregistered









QUOTE(Mike Twining @ May 6 2008, 09:14 AM)
Hey... their OS, their rules.  Who's bright idea was it to pick a microsoft extension for IronCAD files to begin with?  I think it is long past time for a new IronCAD Scene file extension...
*


Solid Point, Mike. (no nefarious reference intended)
How about these:

IronCAD scene... .iro -or- .iron
IronCAD drawing... .fer (short for ferrite) -or- .eis (short for eiserne (german))

-Just some goofy ideas... Maybe the IronDudes should hold a contest... wink.gif

This post has been edited by EricFoy: May 6 2008, 10:32 PM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tlehnhaeuser
post May 7 2008, 09:11 AM
Post #11


TriBall
********

Group: Channel Partners
Posts: 6,926
Joined: 17-October 01
From: Commack, New York
Member No.: 48



Yeah, this point was made along time ago and I believe that changed the extension is not as simple as it seems unfortunately. I personally like

.swxklr
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
janttila
post May 7 2008, 09:31 AM
Post #12


Polygon
***

Group: Expired
Posts: 141
Joined: 26-October 06
Member No.: 26,951



QUOTE(dberge @ May 6 2008, 02:26 PM)
Hi,

i tried the ic9-version.
The path for ironcad after the install is now: bin\ironcad.exe "%1"
and it should be: "C:\Program Files\IronCAD\9.0\bin\ironcad.exe"
Do you know how that can be?
I can change it but it won`t stay there after a restart of the computer
*



Try again now, i refuse to give up;)

uninstall
download, install and run.

and please notify me! smile.gif

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dberge
post May 8 2008, 02:58 AM
Post #13


Cylinder
**

Group: Community Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 3-March 08
Member No.: 37,083



Thanks Johan, it does the job. nice work!

regards Wim
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
cwitmer
post Jul 25 2014, 04:34 AM
Post #14


Block
*

Group: Community Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 22-March 13
Member No.: 60,824



Hi

Sorry for bringing this old thread back to life, but I do have the exact same problem with Ironcad 14 on windows 7. After I changed the ics file association, I get Ironcad logo or a 2 color block transition from red to blue.
Tried to download the reclaim tool, but link is not recognized.
.icd files are showing thumbnails fine.
Is there also a solution for my configuration?

Kind regards,
Christopher
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IronKevin
post Mar 27 2015, 02:43 PM
Post #15


TriBall
********

Group: IronCAD Employees
Posts: 19,585
Joined: 21-November 06
Member No.: 27,213



I have never found a permanent solution to this problem, sadly the tool described above hasn't been updated in years.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dleczynski
post Mar 27 2015, 03:16 PM
Post #16


TriBall
********

Group: Channel Partners
Posts: 1,730
Joined: 17-July 12
From: Polska
Member No.: 60,709



QUOTE(IronKevin @ Mar 27 2015, 02:43 PM)
I have never found a permanent solution to this problem, sadly the tool described above hasn't been updated in years.
*



simply try to delete the two entries in the registry.

HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-2134629734-1534462894-3128833934-1000\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\.ics

HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-2134629734-1534462894-3128833934-1000\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\RecentDocs\.ics

right click ikon - set as deflaut ironcad

enjoy.

This post has been edited by dleczynski: Mar 27 2015, 03:41 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IronKevin
post Mar 27 2015, 03:23 PM
Post #17


TriBall
********

Group: IronCAD Employees
Posts: 19,585
Joined: 21-November 06
Member No.: 27,213



I think Outlook will still take the .ics extension back the next time you run it or reboot, that has been my experience.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dleczynski
post Mar 27 2015, 03:47 PM
Post #18


TriBall
********

Group: Channel Partners
Posts: 1,730
Joined: 17-July 12
From: Polska
Member No.: 60,709



QUOTE(IronKevin @ Mar 27 2015, 03:23 PM)
I think Outlook will still take the .ics extension back the next time you run it or reboot, that has been my experience.
*



I checked on multiple computers - it works.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IronKevin
post Mar 27 2015, 04:03 PM
Post #19


TriBall
********

Group: IronCAD Employees
Posts: 19,585
Joined: 21-November 06
Member No.: 27,213



OK thanks! The only down-side is if you also need to use .ics iCalendar files with Outlook (for me that is also important).
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
 

All content copyright IronCAD 2000-2008 Low-Bandwidth View Time is now: 21st September 2017 - 10:16 AM