Sheet Metal- Add Curved Stock

WPATTERSON

G'day Guys, I am relatively new to Iron Cad.

I am having problems with adding curved stock to a sheet metal design.

I am trying to curve the stock in relation to another profile on the top of my part. See Pictures.

When i edit the cross section i project the constraint of the top profile/ radius (95mm) and move it to the start point of the original cross section of the curved stock.

When i press the finish shape button i get an error saying 'no reference path was found for the curved stock.

For the life of me, i cannot work out how to create the reference path.

Can somebody point me in the right direction please or possibly even give me a better way of doing it.

Thanks Wespost-63124-1409306396_thumb.jpgpost-63124-1409306409_thumb.jpgpost-63124-1409306417_thumb.jpg

Wes,

It cant be done.

Reason is that Sheet metal in Ironcad is about creating parts that can be manufactured by fold/ unfolding in 2- dimensions.

What you are trying to achieve is a 3D dimensional sheet metal part. That is created in another type of process in a shop floor. Don't now the English words for it but that kind of parts are formed with a pressing method rather than being bended in a bending machine.

Say you have created your part successfully in Ironcad, how should that part be manufactured?

With what tool/ machinery I mean.

Picture of Sheet metal bending (2D) machine and a 3D forming tool:

bock.PNG

press.PNG

G'day Guys, I am relatively new to Iron Cad.

I am having problems with adding curved stock to a sheet metal design.

I am trying to curve the stock in relation to another profile on the top of my part. See Pictures.

When i edit the cross section i project the constraint of the top profile/ radius (95mm) and move it to the start point of the original cross section of the curved stock.

When i press the finish shape button i get an error saying 'no reference path was found for the curved stock.